SAT Practice Test and changing my career path…again (College Chat #2)

After spending about 3 weeks of the summer in bed watching YouTube, getting up really only to go to work, I decided that I need to start getting my life together. Don’t get me wrong, I love just laying in bed and doing nothing, but at the same time, I take my SAT in 6 weeks and I haven’t so much as thought about math since I took my finals a month ago.  So, I took action.

I started my Friday morning, a morning which I normally would’ve woken up around 12:30-1pm and work up at 9am. I planned last night that I was going to wake up and take a practice SAT and that’s exactly what I did. I had a scheduled practice at 10am and I started it around 10:02. A little late because I wanted to eat breakfast before hunkering down for a few hours. Also because I needed to set up Spotify because there was simply no way I was sitting in silence for that long.

Before going into detail I should explain where how how I am doing this SAT practice. I used to use Ready4SAT but, one, now you have to pay for it which I refuse to do, and two, since it’s an app on my phone I got distracted by notifications. My boss actually recommend that I used Khan Academy, but since I had only ever used it on my phone, I didn’t like it.

Lucky for my sleeplessness, I decided to do college research last night and go on CollegeBoard and it reminded me that I take my SAT at the end of August. From there I went onto Khan, set up my account, linked it to my CollegeBoard account, and got a lesson plan curated for me within my 6 week time frame, focusing on what I need help with most based on my SAT and PSAT scores.

That bring me to this morning. I set up to do 45ish minutes of practice a day (30 questions) and I have 3 practice tests leading up to my actual test. All of them Friday mornings. All of them at 10am. All of them hopefully helping me improve.

I spent about 2 hours on a test that should have taken me three. I ended up doing better in Math, but somehow decreased in Reading. My score went do to an 1170 compared to the already terribly average 1180 I got on my March SAT. I’m not mad, I went into it with absolutely no practice. I just wanted to see where I stand.

I’ll just keep practicing on my scheduled practice days and hopefully improving.

Aside from that I’m not going to work in publishing anymore. I’m still going to write books, but I think my skills could be useful elsewhere.

I learned yesterday that most students have to double major because you need a certain amount of credits to graduate and one major doesn’t give you enough.

SOOOOOOOOOOOOO…….

I’m going to double major in english langue and early childhood education! YAY!

I mean my job involves me working with little kids on a normal basis and I’ve always loved little kids.

Ideally I want to teach 2nd or 3rd grade. The kids are independent but still imaginative. They will get their work done but they’ll greatly appreciate doing other things.

One of the main reasons I like those two grade levels is because those are the years I had the most fun. Those are the years I had my favorite teachers and I felt like I was having fun but still learning.

If I do teacher for a higher grade level I would want to be strictly an english teacher. I like math, but I can’t teach it. Not for a living. That sounds miserable to me. At least english is like writing and reading, things I enjoy doing.

There was a point in my life I wanted to be a teacher, but I changed my mind. Now here I am again, talking about being a teacher.

I guess the idea never really left my mind, I just made way for new ones. Don’t get me wrong, I would like working in publishing, but not forever.

I think what I’m trying to tell you is that you’re not going to know what you want to do. You’re going to change your mind about 1500 times. I know I have. It’s cool though.

We’ll figure it out.

Happy Friday guys 🙂

