Late night thoughts

I think about a lot of things and I often think about things in the middle of the night, and then I can’t sleep. Anyways, it’s almost 2am and I’m wide awake and I don’t have school tomorrow (technically today).

Lately, I’ve been thinking about a lot. Nothing good or bad, just thinking. The kind of thoughts that keep you up and thinking at night. I feel as if I’ve failed. Failed at doing something I thoroughly enjoy. Reading. I have no picked up a book in nearly 3 months that wasn’t for school. I haven’t leisurely read anything by choice in so long. I have, but I haven’t finished anything. It’s not even that I’m busy all the time, I’m just in a reading funk. I need that push.  That good book to get me back in the swing of things.

On the other hand, I have begun writing again. Not here, but like poetry and stories again.This is actually because of school. We had to write short stories as  project that are in a contest. I am actually pretty proud of mine, but I’m sure someones is better, and I probably wont win, but I enjoyed writing the story so that’s all that matters. My friends all liked the story too. I would say what it’s about, but honestly I don’t even know what it’s about. It was just me venting I guess to an extent it can be liked to my life in the sense that I am a larger influence on both characters, but neither character is me. I am just pieces of each character. I feel like a lot of writers do that though. If not, then at least I do. I make my stories and poems very personal, but then dramatize a lot of the story so that you couldn’t ever tell that it had something to do what is going on in my life.

I will probably post the story if I win, which I think I will find out by the end of next week, But if I don’t win, I’ll think about it at least. I don’t want to promise that i’ll post if I don’t win, but I will make an effort to like it without everyone’s approval.

Well, I should really get some sleep. Here’s a little excerpt from my story:

“As if I were some contagious disease that she didn’t want to catch. I get it though. I’m not exactly the prettiest color in the crayon box. I’m the color you use when the color you want is missing, a second choice of sorts. Lux, on the other hand, she is the crayon you always grab for without a doubt. Another reason I was in love with her, the fifth reason I loved her. She is the definition of perfect.”

Silent Desire 

Let me know what you think based on this little piece, if I should post it. Thanks for reading!

