A Short Story.

I recently read a handful of short stories for English. Usually, I am not a huge fan of them due to their unrealistic features, but these ones really made me think.

One of the short stories we read was Contents of a Dead Man’s Pockets. It’s pretty much about this man who ends up stuck 11 stories high off his apartment ledge, all because of a piece of paper. The realistic thing to do would be to go to your neighbors and reach out their window to get it, but instead the guy climbs out his window, out onto the ledge, and attempts to get the paper.

Eventually the man ends up safe back in his apartment, and ironically enough, the paper flies back out the window, and the man just leaves and goes to find his wife. Now, none of this is important. I choose this one as the best of the four we read because it made me think the most. Not about what would happen if I were stuck 11 stories high, but what would happen if I were the one up there and fell. There would be no way to identify me.

I am the type of person who has random junk in their pockets. I looked in my winter jacket pockets, and I found some Jolly Ranchers, a glove, and some tissues. I rarely carry around my wallet or a purse, and I have no clue where my school id’s ever are. This man was talking about how he only had a piece of paper that had gotten him up their in the first place, and some matches. There were other things in his pocket, but I can’t remember them right now.

I’m not saying that I’m dying, but if I were to ever get stuck on a ledge and all I had were the contents in my pocket, I’d be absolutely screwed. Now, this isn’t even the message of the story, but this is how I interpreted it.

Anyways, have an amazing weekend. And, sorry for the double post, I just totally forgot about the other one in my drafts. Love Ya!

-Savannah

TL:DR?

If I ever fall off a ledge and plummet to my death, there would only be Jolly Ranchers and a glove in my pocket.

