My life as a sophomore in high school (this far)

I’ve been waiting to write this post until I had a full week of school, but then I got a lot of homework. I only had a little bit of homework today, so I figured it was the perfect time to write.

So far, I’ve gone to school for 10 days. I’ve had three half days and I was off for Labor Day. As far as my teachers go, besides my spanish teacher who has yet to learn my name, I am pretty happy.

I have Spanish first, (on ACD days)  and we’ve yet to really do anything. We’ve done two dialogs (a thing my teacher does so that we can learn to pronounce words and speak in normal conversations) and we’ve had a large amount of free time. I love free time, but I do want to learn how to speak my language, something that I wish I was more interested in when I was little instead of saying I don’t want to learn (a stupid mistake on my part because now it’s challenging).

Then I go to gym (on ABD days). Right now I’m taking driver’s ed because it’s sort of required at my school sophomore year. I want to learn to drive, of course, but oh my lord, that class is so boring. I don’t know if I’ll make it out alive. Okay I will make it, but it surely won’t be easy.

After that I have forensics (on ABC days). Forensics is probably one of my favorite classes. We’ve already had a lot of fun. Even though my observation skills kinda suck. Well, it’s not that they suck, I just have a problem retaining minor details. We’ve been doing these activities where you look at a picture for 2 minutes or watch a video, then answer as many questions as you can. We’re allowed to work with the people at our table, which is helpful, because I remember the stupid stuff, but can never tell you how many people were in the picture, or the license plate number, but I can tell you that the guy was wearing a striped shirt with the number 11 on it and the robbers were armed.

My final morning class is US History I (on BCD days). History, not my strongest subject, but I’m keeping myself organized and studying, which has helped. Speaking of history, I have homework that I have to do still. It’s only three questions though, so it shouldn’t take long. Anyway, Mr. Cap is a pretty cool teacher, he tries to help us as much as he can to keep our grades up, and for the first time, I am actually raising my hand to answer questions in history, something I usually can’t do because I never know what I’m talking about.

Then comes lunch. Lunch is lunch. My two friends and I eat, then go to the library and do homework, or just talk until the bell rings being it’s much quieter in comparison to the cafe, but still manages to be pretty loud. Other than that, lunch isn’t exciting.

After lunch, I have English 10cp (ACD days). I like English to an extent. I love reading and writing about certain things, but I don’t like vocab or grammar lessons.

After I have Journalism (ABD days), my other favorite class. So far, I’ve already written two articles. One about the new debate coach and one about the new gym teacher. I only have one “friend” in that class, Kaya, and that’s because we had gym together last year and hung out with the same people. Now that we’re the only people eachother talk to in that class, we’ve become friends. I’m looking forward to when we get to write about whatever we want in the next few weeks because I have a lot of ideas.

After that, I have Chemistry Honors (ABC days). I love Chem so far. It’s more interesting than Bio was, but I miss my Bio teacher, she was a lot of fun. But besides that, I sit with close friends in Chem, so we have fun and get our work done.

My last class is Algebra 2 Honors (BCD days). Math is something I consider myself to be good at. I have the same teacher as last year, but she’s pregnant and goes on maternity leave in November. With her, I know how to take notes, what to expect, and how to keep my grades up. I also know to never be absent when I have that class because I’ll be clueless. That’s how it was for geometry anyway.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with my schedule and I’m getting into the swing of things. Now that I’m better at managing my time, I can get back to a regular posting schedule hopefully with the exception of midterms and finals of course because those both entail a week of studying and flashcard making. I’m super organized and writing down all of my homework, which is helping to an extent. I still managed to forget to bring home my Chem notebook yesterday though. Other than that I’ve been good about homework. My year is off to a great start, and hopefully will get better.

Thanks for reading!

-Savannah

TL;DR

I’m in super smart classes and trying to keep my grades up as high as possible. Also trying time management and figuring out block scheduling. 

