Happy Summer to me, Happy Friday to You

Happy Friday everyone! I’ve been out of school since Wednesday, and I was gonna write yesterday but the first day of summer vacation to me is doing virtually nothing. So that’s what I did. I lied on my couch and did nothing. It was a nice day to say the least. Today is Friday. Pretty much all of my friends are out of school, so one of my close friends is throwing a pool party! Look at me doing something that’s outdoors. You have no idea how accomplished I feel for not being inside all day. I HAVE FRIENDS!! Haha. I sound insane.

So my school is so fantastic. Just kidding! Since I’m taking English 10 CP, I have to read Tuesdays with Morrie and write an essay about three things Mitch Albom learned and three things I learned. I started reading it already, and it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. I was expecting something boring, but it’s not terrible… yet.

I also have to read another book. I’m taking APUSH 1 next year, so I have to pick a book off this list:

Summer Reading Lists

APUSH 1

McCullough, John Adams, 1776

Madison, Hamilton and Jay, The Federalist Papers

Brookheiser, Alexander Hamilton

Wills, A Necessary Evil

Fenn, Pox Americana Ambrose, Undaunted Courage Sale, Conquest of Paradise

Donald, Lincoln

Kearns Goodwin, Team of Rivals Maier, American Scripture Thoreau, Walden, Cape Cod, The Maine Woods

Stowe, Uncle Tom’s Cabin

Hawthorne, House of the Seven Gables

Cooper, Last of the Mohicans

Twain, An Innocent Abroad, Huckleberry Finn

Washington, Up From Slavery

Dahl, How Democratic is the United States Constitution?

Brands, The First American, Andrew Jackson

Riis, How the Other Half Lives

Vowell, The Wordy Shipmates

I haven’t chosen one yet, but I don’t exactly want to either. I don’t like history I’m just sorta good at it.

Along with reading one of these books, I have to write an essay I don’t remember the prompt but I do know that it has to be 7-10 pages. Oh joy. And they say high school is the best years of your life. I’d like to meet whoever made that a thing and have him/her do all my work to the fullest potential.

Well, its summer. I’m gonna read more books and get tan. Happy Friday!

