Amazing Easter (or anytime) Vanilla Sour Cream Cupcakes

Yep that’s right, I, the person who absolutely hates sour cream, made vanilla sour cream cupcakes. I practically made up the recipe because I found one, but I wasn’t too keen on some of the steps and measurements so I altered it and it is amazing (in the opinion of a very good amateur baker)

I was making cupcakes for Easter, so they have baby pink buttercream and a chocolate drizzle and jelly beans, but the cupcakes would be good just vanilla with vanilla butter cream. Here is all the measurements:

Cupcakes: (One Dozen)

-1½ cups all-purpose flour
-1 cup granulated sugar
-1½ teaspoons baking powder
-½ teaspoon table salt
-unsalted butter (1 stick), room temperature
-½ cup sour cream
-1 large egg, room temperature
-2 large egg yolks, room temperature
-2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Buttercream: (Exactly enough for heavy handed piping, with a little extra to eat)

-unsalted butter (2 sticks), at room temperature
-2½ cups powdered sugar
-1 ½ tablespoon vanilla extract

Optional:

-Food coloring: I used red gel food coloring, about  teaspoon, but however much you want or don’t want to use is fine.

-Melted Chocolate: I used half a Hersey bar, ½ cup of half and half, and ½ table spoon of butter.

-Jelly beans: I couldn’t find Cadbury eggs anywhere so I settled for the next best thing, jelly beans.

1) Start by preheating your oven to 350 ° F and lining a muffin/ cupcake tin with 12 liners, I used Easter ones for Easter.

2) In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Then set it to the side, somewhere you won’t knock it over. Also, don’t forget your measuring cup in the flour like I did, you’ll go crazy looking for it.

3) In a bigger bowl, cream together the soft butter and the sugar. Then add the vanilla, egg, and yolks. Save the whites for an omelet if you’d like. Or you can just get rid of them. That works.

4) Next, you add the sour cream. Mix it until smooth. It may seem a little runny at this point but it’ll all get better, I promise.

5) Add in the flour mixture you made earlier. A LITTLE AT A TIME! YOUR KITCHEN WILL BE COVERED IN FLOUR IF YOU RUSH, I PROMISE. You may notice the batter getting thick, just turn up your mixer to full speed and it’ll all be incorporated. At this point, lick the mixer paddle and take a rubber spatula and scrape the sides of the bowl to ensure everything is nice and mixed.

6) Time to fill all of the liners. I found that it filled them all three quarters full and then I scraped up some from the bowl for self-enjoyment.

7) BAKE! I baked mine for 23 minutes and they came out nice and golden. Yum!

8) While you wait for the cupcakes to cool, make the frosting.

9) Start by creaming the butter.

10) Add the powdered sugar half cup at a time. Before the last half cup, add in the vanilla.

11) Beat until smooth, then add food coloring if desired. Hand mix until fully incorporated.

12) Make sure the cupcakes are cooled before frosting, then frost away.

Optional:

13) Drizzle over melted chocolate and top with desired candy.

14) Enjoy your vanilla sour cream cupcakes.

I’m sure this would work great for cake, you probably just want to make more frosting. If you try out these cupcakes let me know how you like them. Like always, thanks for being such great supporters. Happy Easter everyone!

