A letter to myself.

Last night as I lay restless, anticipating who knows what, I realized that I hadn’t written in quite some time. At first I was upset with myself for not doing what I said I would, and then I thought, “well, I’m writing more for myself than for anyone else, so I can take breaks when I want, and not have to question myself.” The truth is, I’ve had nothing to write. On Sunday, I was going to write a letter to my future self and share what I hope to be by the time I graduate highschool, but every time I went to write it, I didn’t exactly know what I wanted. All I knew is that I wanted to be happy, and I didn’t want to have any regrets.
This morning I woke up around 6:30ish because my friend had texted me. I told her that she woke me up but for her to keep me awake so that I could write a poem. The poem I wrote is titled “A Letter to Myself.” She read it and fell in love with it and then I went back to sleep since I don’t have to leave for another 15 mins. (Delayed openings are the best) I saved the poem into my notes and then reread it when I woke up again at 8:30. It inspired me to write this. I know it’s not what I originally I anticipated to write, but in my opinion its better. Well, here it is, A Letter to Myself.

Dear future me,
Stop worrying.
You dont need to prove anything
You don’t need to make someone fall in love with you.
You don’t need someone yo define you.
You’re pretty freaking amazing, if I do say so myself.
Your friends only mean well
They’re not trying to exploit you, I promise
Stop worrying.
You probably spend hours thinking about what you can change about yourself
When there’s nothing that needs to be changed.
You want to change to be perfect,
But that perfect your referring to is simply photo shopped pics
You don’t need to change for anyone
Trust me, if you need to change, then they’re not worth it.
Be yourself
Future me, you’re perfect, don’t worry.
Love past me ❤

I wrote this with the intention of looking back on this in a few years and knowing that I’m still perfect. Well, that’s all. Happy Tuesday everyone.

If you enjoyed this post, I’d be very grateful if you’d help it spread by emailing it to a friend (a stranger works too), or sharing it on Twitter and/or Facebook. Thank you!

