Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Ahhh! Finally! I’ve finally finished a book. What a relief it is to have the weight of self-guilt lifted off of your shoulders. On just Monday, I finally finished Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) By the one and only Mindy Kaling. My idol! As I’ve mentioned time after time, I love Mindy, she is amazing. And reading her book made me appreciate her more. To start off I’m just going to briefly describe why I only gave it 4 stars on good reads. So the first reason is that it seemed to kind of drag on towards the end, but then when it was the end, it was just an abrupt ending. Just like “yep that’s the end of my book. Go find a life now!” and really it shouldn’t have taken me as long as it did to read it, but I got 2/3 of the way through and it got less interesting. I’m not sure if it was because I couldn’t any longer relate to her since it was her life in production of The Office, or that I was legitimately bored. That’s another reason I didn’t like the book enough to give it 5 stars. I wasn’t any longer able to connect after her childhood. I felt more like I was reading a newspaper article about her success rather than an autobiography. Anyway, those were the only real downsides to the book for me.

Overall, I was able to relate to things that happened to Mindy in her life. Even though shes 21 years older than me (barely), she has had a lot of stuff happen in her teens and her child hood that any normal chubby kid would understand. You have a minimal group of friends, and you keep them because you don’t know if you are going to make more, but then you realize that nobody can define you and that you are absolutely freaking gorgeous. Honestly I’ve always been the chubby kid, probably was even fat at some points, and I still am a little chubby, but who isn’t. Okay well, bad question because I can name a ton of skinny people, but that’s not the point. Everyone is their own beautiful, and my beautiful is a short and cubby/curvy beautifulness and yours could be a tall skinny beautifulness but it’s all cool. Mindy says numerous times that she isn’t a traditional celebrity mainly because shes a size 8 not a size zero like most of them. It really gave me some insight on how size doesn’t matter and how alike celebrities are to normal people. That’s really all I have to say about the book. I could go on for hours about how connected I felt to childhood Mindy, but nobody wants that. Get your copy of Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) on amazon for only $3.36 (plus shipping). Like always, if you enjoyed this post, I’d be very grateful if you’d help it spread by emailing it to a friend (strangers are cool too) or sharing it on Twitter and/or Facebook. Be sure to check out my other posts and don’t forget to follow this little bundle of joy (I’m actually not that nice but I am short so that’s half true). Thanks you for reading!

One comment

  1. codysmadhope · February 14, 2015

    This is on my list. I love Mindy too, and that is such an adorable picture! I will take the ending with a grain of salt; I loved The Office, so maybe I will enjoy it. Hopefully someday soon, I can get to it. Currently working on Eat Pray Love. Have you read it?

Leave a Reply

