Movie Review: Gravity (2013)

Don’t let go

Just incase you’re as behind as me, and have not yet managed to see Gravity, then here’s the gist of it according to Wikipedia.

“Dr. Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock) is a medical engineer on her first shuttle mission. Her commander is veteran astronaut Matt Kowalsky (George Clooney), helming his last flight before retirement. Then, during a routine space walk by the pair, disaster strikes: The shuttle is destroyed, leaving Ryan and Matt stranded in deep space with no link to Earth and no hope of rescue. As fear turns to panic, they realize that the only way home may be to venture further into space.”

Sounds crazy, right? I have a tendency to ruin movies, (or so I’ve been told) so just a heads up.
Anyway, at first I was kind of like I don’t know if I’m going to like this, but I’ll give it a shot. Within the first five minutes I was glued to the screen. It starts off so calm and then BAM! It hits you in the face like a brick flying off of a ceiling fan that’s spinning 2000 mph. There was times where I was wondering if I was really watching it and times that I hoped it was almost over. Gravity was just super amazing.
Besides the plot line, the graphics were extremely realistic and I was convinced they actually went into space to shoot the movie. If you can fool me into believing that something so unbelievable is real, then I’m going to watch your movie whether its good or not. I may not be interested but I’ll be happy with the graphics and realism.
The budget was $100 million and the movie got $716.4 million in the box office. Rotten Tomatoes gave the film a score of 97% based on reviews from 305 critics, with a certified fresh rating and an overall score of 9/10. All in all, everyone, me included, should watch, or re-watch, this Hollywood masterpiece.

If you enjoyed this post, I’d be very grateful if you’d help it spread by emailing it to a friend (a stranger works too), or sharing it on Twitter and/or Facebook. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

