Book/Movie Review and a Life Experience

I didn’t quite understand what Melody Grace was talking about the first dozen times I read her book, Unbroken. I never really had a comparison between the “two kinds of love,” the steady breeze and the hurricane. For those of you who haven’t read this book, or have and don’t recall the beginning of the first chapter, here’s the two kinds of love.

“The steady breeze is slow and patient. It fills the sails or the boats in the harbor, and lifts laundry on the line. It cools you on a hot summer’s day, brings the leaves of fall, like clockwork every year. You can count on a breeze, steady and sure and true. But there’s nothing steady about a hurricane. It rips through the town, reckless, sending the ocean foaming up the shore, felling trees and power lines and anyone dumb or f***ed up enough to stand in its path. Sure, it’s a thrill like nothing you’ve ever known: your pulse kicks, your body calls to it, like a spirit possessed. It’s wild and breathless and all-consuming. But what comes next? ‘You see a hurricane coming, you run,’ my mom told me the summer I turned eighteen. ‘You shut the doors, and you bar the windows. Because come morning, there’ll be nothing but the wreckage left behind.’ Looking back, I wonder if Mom saw it in my eyes: the storm clouds gathering, the dry crackle of electricity in the air. But it was already too late. No warning sirens were going to save me. I guess you never really know the danger, not until you’re the one left, huddled on the ground, surrounded by the pieces of your broken heart. That’s the thing about hurricanes. Once the storm touches down, all you can do is pray.”

Pretty much, Melody Grace was explaining the two types of love. In this books, it makes sense that it has to do with weather, since most of it takes place in Beachwood Bay. It’s been a while since I read this book, but after watching Labor Day (2014) last night, I finally understood what Melody was aiming towards, which caused me to link the book to my life.

The book overall wasn’t that great. It was very predictable and I only ever reread it because I loved the feeling of Juliete (main character) getting her happiness and her love. Labor Day is a whole other story. I loved it from beginning to end and even though I’ve seen it a few times, I still hope that the ending changes. I still hope that Adele gets her love.

So, I connected the book and the movie because, in the movie, Adele in divorced from a steady breeze, her son’s father. Then Frank comes around and changes everything. Even though Adele is risking her life, she keeps Frank because she loves him. He is her hurricane.

When it comes to my life, I have had a fair share of steady breezes and a hand full of hurricanes. All of my steady breezes (close friends) have stayed with me through everything. They’re predictable. They won’t leave me behind. All the hurricanes I’ve ever met were never quite my friends. Just someone I had met and talked to for a few days and then that was it. Except one. I have this one friend, I guess you could say, that’s a hurricane. They’re the worst, yet best person I’ve ever met. They keep me on my feet and make me happy, yet cause me so much pain at the same time. Hurricanes are unpredictable. My hurricane is constantly in and out of my life, and I always say I’m done, but I never really am. I don’t want to be done. Having a hurricane is fun. You wake up each day wondering what’s in store. A hurricane is something that everyone should experience. 207 days. You are my hurricane. Am I yours?

