My New Year’s Experience

So, as we all know, 2015 has begun. That means, that last night was full of celebrations, and fun, and love. My night started out with taking a Uber to my father’s friend’s house. No big deal, right? Well, this Uber driver was in some sort of rush, and was speeding; it was actually quite frightening. Once we arrived at the destination, we were greeted by our amazing hosts and friends. We ran in the front door, being that is was so cold, and that we were all going to possibly freeze to death. Once we got inside we all hung out and talked and ate snacks, and then it happened. The hosts announced that they were engaged! We were all so excited, and it was just amazing.

After a while, I pulled out my book. I am reading Dark Water by Laura McNeal, to begin the year. For more information on the book Click Here. Any who, I was just beginning to read the first page when my I was offered soda. While I do enjoy soda it wasn’t an ordinary soda. it was honey basil soda. While it was pretty good going down, it had a strong after taste that I didn’t enjoy. But hey, new year, new things. It is very “basily,” I guess you could say, in the gross aftertaste part, and apparently that makes me picky? If you’re interested, you an Click here to learn how to make your own because you can’t purchase it online anywhere (second recipe). Since I had already tried one new thing, I decided to be bold and try my fathers very hot homemade salsa dip. They first one I tried was actually really good, and wasn’t making my tongue feel as if it were going to fall off. The second one. Oh My Lord. I couldn’t feel my tongue for a good 15 minutes. Needless to say I was done trying new things… or so I thought.

At around 9, we all sat down for a family style dinner of meat and potatoes, except the meat was this glorious, perfectly cooked, lamb that I could not get enough of. Dinner was fantastic and I gladly ate 3 plates. After dinner I sat with the guys, (my dad, the guy host, and one of their friends) and I learned a bunch of computer stuff. I couldn’t explain it to you in a thousand years, but it was interesting, and I really enjoyed it. I didn’t feel like an awkward, brainless child. We continued to hang out, and listened to music, had fun, and just plain enjoyed ourselves.

At around 11 pm, the champagne rolled out. I was perfectly fine with my bottle of water, but everyone insisted that I try the home made champagne, and that it was better that I have my first drink around adults. Well, I really didn’t want to, but I said hey why not. New year, new things. Champagne is so gross. I will not be touching another drink for a very long time. I’ll stick to my bottle of water. After that we just ate dessert watched the ball drop and ended up Ubering back home at around 2:30. The Uber driver was really cool and its his birthday (shout out to you awesome Uber driver who blasted music in his car and was driving people around on his birthday). I got home at around 3, and I just knocked out and didn’t wake up until about an hour ago. I had lots of fun, and I can’t believe its already 2015. If you enjoyed this post, I’d be very grateful if you’d help it spread by emailing it to a friend (or strangers) or sharing it on Twitter and/or Facebook. Thank you! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

